Scroll to top

Royal Welsh Show 2015

Procters Farm lead quality line up at Royal Welsh

It was a case of de ja vu in the Texel judging at this year’s Royal Welsh Show with Procters Farm picking up their second Royal Welsh championship in as many years and also their second major show championship of the year with the same sheep.

Topping the line under Northern Irish judge and Society chairman Henry Gamble of the Springwell flock, was day a one-crop ewe shown by flock manager Jeff Aiken.

This ewe, PFD1302614, is a daughter of the privately purchased Scholars Twenty Twelve. She is out of a dam by the 50,000gns Haddo Ringleader and was praised by Mr Gamble for her correctness and evenness of fleshing, coupled with outstanding breed character.

“She’s a tremendous ewe, with great movement and a real spark to her. She is well fleshed all the way through and has that extra sparkle needed in a champion.”

Standing reserve to the aged ewe was the winner of the male championship, Michael and Ella James’ ram Meinspride Usain. This son of Glenside Razzle Dazzle was bred by Angela Nairey and is out of a Glenside Drum Major sired dam. He was bought at Carlisle last year for 4400gns when he was first prize shearling in the pre-sale show and is jointly owned by Michael James & Stephen Abberley. 

This was the first time the James family had shown Texels at the Royal Welsh with Michael delighted to have been among the top tickets.

Mr Gamble said the ram was a great example of the breed, being correct and carrying a great carcass. “He is everything a Texel ram should be and is a credit to the breed.”

Standing reserve in the female championship was the winner of the ewe lamb class from William and Elizabeth McCaffrey, YWM1500319. This one extended the Procters Farm influence, having been bought in the womb of her mother last year when the McCaffreys bought her dam from the Twilight Texels sale for 4400gns. She is by Tophill Union Jack the 2013 Lanark champion and is out of a dam by Scholars Twenty Twelve.

And taking the reserve male championship was Iolo Prys Jones’ winning ram lamb, JLI1501164. He is by Baltier Vampire, a ram bought from Carlisle last year and is out of a homebred dam by Sportsmans Superstar. This lamb was on his first time out and is entered for Lanark.

In the shearling rams the winner was the 145,000gns Knap Vicious Sid from the Boden and Davies team. 

The shearling ewes were won by Matthew McTaggart with a Stainton Uncle Sam daughter out of a dam by Fairywater Samurai.

Procters Farm were to the fore again in the group of three class, winning this class ahead of the second placed group from Iolo Prys Jones.

Mr Gamble said the standard had been exceptional through the classes and the sheep forward were a credit to the breeders. “It was without a doubt one of the most enjoyable bits of judging I’ve done, with a great show of Texels showing exactly what the breed is about.

“The top end of every class had sheep with great carcasses, good skins and exceptionally correct. I congratulate every exhibitor for representing the breed so well.”


Royal Welsh Photo Album 2015 


Class Results

Aged Rams

  1. – Michael James & Stephen Abberley –  Meinspride Usain
  2. – Frank Moffat’s-  Langford Upper Path
  3. – S P and C P Williams –  Cooilingel Thor
  4. – Gwilym and Nerris Williams’ – Caron Ultimate
  5.  – D I Corfield and Partners’ – Sportmans Uncommon


Shearling Rams

1 – Boden and Davies’ Knap Vicious Sid

2 – Procters Farm’s PFD1403663

3 – John R Williams’ WSF1403018

4 – J and B Booker’s Bankolive Vin Diesel

5 – G and K Williams’ WYN1400578


Ram Lambs

1 – Iolo Prys Jones JLI1501164

2 – William McCaffrey’s YWM1500353

3 – Boden and Davies’ BGS1501667

4 – Boden and Davies’ BGS1501626

5 – Robin Clwyd Ellis’ TEG1500497


Aged Ewes

1 – Procters Farm’s PFD1302614

2 – Matthew McTaggart’s MTR1300453

3 – R E J Pierce’s PRE1200196

4 – Robert Bennett’s BFE1200055

       5– Robert Bennett’s BFE100030


Shearling Ewes

1 – Matthew McTaggart’s MTR1400629

2 – Boden and Davies’ BCM1400276

3 – D J J Watkins and Co’s WJJ140357

4 – Procters Farm’s PFD1403561

5– Boden and Davies’ BGS1401095


Ewe Lambs

1 – William McCaffrey’s YWM1500319

2 – Procters Farm’s PFD1500173

3 – Matthew McTaggart’s MTR1500748

4 – Robert Bennett’s BFE1505003

5 – R E J Pierce’s PRE1500569



Group of Three

1 –Procters Farm

2 – Iolo Prys Jones



Related posts

Translate site »