Scroll to top

NITBC reflects on successful and eventful year

Recently the NI Texel Breeders Club members gathered at Greenmount Agricultural College for their annual AGM. The Club’s vice chairman, Henry Gamble welcomed the turnout of members, friends, guest speaker and sponsor Paddy Grant, Parklands Vets, Sonia McCallion, Marie Curie and member Graham McFarland accepting a donation on behalf of Juvenile Batten Disease.

The evening’s proceedings commenced with Mr Grant giving an informative talk on Fortress Farming, Jaagsiekte Disease and new thoughts on disease control in sheep followed by a short question and answering session which was well received by those present.

Mr Gamble then presented a cheque to Sonia McCallion, Marie Curie and a cheque to Graham McFarland to be donated to Juvenile Batten Disease Research for £2275 each from money raised at the Club’s Annual Open Night.

Henry Gamble presents a cheque to Sonia Scallion of Marie Curie

Henry Gamble presents a cheque to Graham McFarland to be donated to Juvenile Batten Disease Research

Young breeder representative James Wilkinson also donated on behalf of the Young Breeders a cheque for £400 to Mr McFarland from money raised at their BBQ. Mr Gamble thanked Victor and David Chestnutt for hosting such a successful Open Night and charity event. Mrs McCallion and Mr McFarland thanked the Club and for their generosity of the donations made with both expressing that the money would be a valuable asset to helping and supporting their respective charities.

Following the charity presentation, Mr Gamble went on to highlight the success of the previous year at shows, sales, club activities and events, thanking members for participating throughout the year and thanking the Club’s sponsors for their continued support. He congratulated those who took home trophies and encouraged members to continue to compete in 2018.

As part of his resume of events, congratulations was expressed to Jack Gault, Cherryvale Texels, on his success at Balmoral Show claiming champion Texel and interbred champion and to S and J McCollam, Carmavy Texels, on taking reserve champion Texel. Mr Gamble went on to congratulate Naomi Ardis, Millburn Texels, on her success at the NI Premier sale selling her ram lamb Millburn All Star for the top price of 4000gns and also the Hanthorn Family’s Mullan Texel success at Lanark and Carlisle taking 42,000gns for Mullan Armani and 32,000gns for Mullan Amigo. Congratulations also went to Richard Henderson, Ballynahone Texels, for taking the top female price of the year of 19,000gns at the Northern Stars In-Lamb Sale.

Mr Gamble went on to acknowledge the continued success of the Club’s annual Flock Competition and Volac Show Flock Competition. Once again Jack Gault’s Cherryvale Flock was congratulated for winning the flock competition with Martin and Cyril Millar’s Millar’s flock claiming reserve. John Foster, Springhill Texels was congratulated in achieving the Volac Show Flock 2017 with Alastair Gault’s Forkins flock claiming reserve.

Mr Gamble pointed out the hard work and commitment of members, committee, office bearers and convenors throughout the year to ensure the smooth running of the Club’s activities. The vice chairman also expressed particular thanks to those who sponsored the Club throughout the year namely, Danske Bank, Volac Ireland, Bank of Ireland, Farmware Supplies Northern Counties Co-op, Farm Care, Glen Farm Supplies, Smyth Daleside, S H Coleman, Holden Agri & Fuels, Fane Valley, Tulliven Growvite, Ivan Porter, Osmonds, and Oldstone Veterinary.

Brian McAllister, treasurer, followed the vice chairman’s report with a detailed report of 2017 accounts which was agreed as an accurate account of the year’s expenses. Following adoption of both the chairman’s and treasurer’s reports voting took place to replace outgoing committee members. The Club wishes to thank Richard Henderson, Leslie Beacom and Adrian Liggett for their hard work, dedication and support over the last three years and welcome on board new committee members John Foster, Robert Calvin and Nigel Ross.

Following election of the committee James Wilkinson gave a short report on behalf of the Young Breeders, making particular reference to the generosity of the Club’s support to members attending the YDP weekend and to Paul O’Connor, Drumgooland Texels, for sponsoring the shield for the events activities. He also thanked the Chestnutt family for allowing the Young Breeders to run the BBQ at the Open Night and to Ian Millar, Millars Meats Ballyclare, for providing the burgers.

The evening finished with Mr Gamble presenting the Chairman’s Trophy to John Currie, Tullagh Texels, for his many years of service and contribution to the NI Texel Club.


Honorary Presidents: Robbie Mulligan, Banbridge

Chairman: Martin Cromie, Banbridge

Vice Chair: Henry Gamble, Bangor

Secretary: Martin Warnock, Limavady

PRO: Barbara Strawbridge, Coleraine

Minutes Secretary: Marcus Barton, Lack

Treasurer; Brian McAllister, Kells

Export Manager: Martin Warnock, Limavady

Society Representative: Elliot Bell, Rathfriland

Young Members’ Representative: James Wilkinson, Cookstown

 Committee Members elected 2018

John Foster, Castlederg

Robert Calvin, Ballymoney

Nigel Ross, Larne

Committee Members elected 2017

Alastair Gault, Newtownabbey

Fraser Tweed, Ballymena

Committee Members elected 2016

John Trimble, Newry

Jane McCollam, Crumlin

Philip Whyte, Portglenone

Related posts

Translate site »