Scroll to top

Cherryvale flock wins NITBC flock competition

The Adair Arms Ballymena was the venue recently for the Northern Irish Texel Sheep Breeders Club Annual Dinner Dance and Awards evening.  Following an excellent meal Club chairman Martin Cromie welcomed the members and guests and extended thanks on behalf of the Club to the sponsors of the various competitions run throughout the year, namely Ivan Porter, Osmonds, and Danske Bank representative Seamus McCormick for the sponsorship of the Annual Flock Competition and Alistair Sampson, Volac, for the Show Flock Championship.  He called firstly on Alistair Sampson, Volac, to present the awards for the Volac Show Championship 2017.  The results of the competition are as follows:

Volac Show Flock Championship

Champion Ewe Lamb: Adrian Liggett, Corbo

Champion Shearling Ewe: S & J McCollam, Carmavy

Champion Senior Ewe: Adrian Liggett, Corbo

Champion Ram Lamb: Jim Wilson, Blackstown

Champion Shearling Ram: Kieran McAfee, Drumeil

Champion Senior Ram: Nigel Ross, Glenross

Volac Reserve Champion Flock 2017: Alastair Gault, Forkins

Volac Champion Show Flock 2017:  John Foster, Springhill

Mr Cromie then called on Mr John Neville, of the Thornville Flock, Wexford, who judged this year’s flock competition to announce the results and present the awards.  John thanked all those involved for their warm welcome and hospitality and congratulated members on the excellent quality of stock viewed during his visit, commenting on how the standard of stock viewed was a clear indication of the overall high standard of the Texel breed in Northern Ireland.  John announced his winners and presented the awards as follows:

Flock Competition Results

Pen of Ewe Lambs kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter, Osmonds.

Small Flock (based on birth notifications from 1-45: pen of four lambs):

1st Jack Gault
2nd Philip Whyte
3rd Darren McKay

Medium Flock (based on birth notifications from 45-80:  pen of six lambs):

1st Martin Warnock
2nd Naomi Ardis
3rd S & J McCollam

Large Flock (based on birth notifications from 80+: pen of 10 lambs):

1st Alastair Gault
2nd John Foster
3rd Martin Millar

Best senior stock ram kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter Osmonds Ballyward

1st A Gault – Halbeath Woody
2nd N Ross – Curley Usher
3rd J Foster – Bluehill Yogi

Best junior stock ram kindly sponsored by Ivan Porter Osmonds Ballyward

1st M & C Mullan- Drumgooland Aga Khan
2nd M Millar – Millar’s Abracadabra

3rd R Calvin – Millburn All Star

Flock competition kindly sponsored by Danske Bank

Small Flock

1st Jack Gault, Cherryvale

2nd Adrian Liggett, Corbo

3rd Danny McKay, Rohan

Medium Flock

1st Alastair Gault, Forkins

2nd S & J McCollam, Carmavy

3rd Frank Clewer, Bluehill

Large Flock

1st Martin Millar, Millar’s

2nd Victor Chestnutt, Clougher

3rd John Foster, Springhill

Overall Champion Danske Flock: Jack Gault, Cherryvale

Overall Reserve Danske Flock: Martin Millar, Millar’s

The chairman then presented the Hamill Trophy for the Young Breeder of the Year to Darren McKay for his work and contribution to the Young Breeders Club.

The Club would like to extend a sincere thankyou to all their other Sponsors for 2017 namely Danske Bank, Fane Valley, Glen Farm Supplies, Tullivin Growvite, Bank of Ireland, Farmware Supplies, Osmonds, Smyths Daleside, S H Coleman, Holden Agri, Farmcare and Oldstone Veterinary.

Related posts

Translate site »